Lyman Frank Baum

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Celebrated on the Illinois State Library Gwendolyn Brooks Building

Baum L. Frank.jpg
Name: Lyman Frank Baum

Pen Name: L. Frank Baum, Edith Van Dyne, Floyd Akers, Schuyler Staunton, John Estes Cooke, Suzanne Metcalf, Laura Bancroft, Captain Hugh Fitzgerald

Genre: Fiction

Born: May 15, 1856 in Chittenango, New York

Died: May 6, 1919 in Hollywood, California

Illinois Connection

Baum lived in Chicago from 1891 - 1910. In 1899, he lived at 1667 North Humboldt Boulevard in Chicago when he wrote The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

In 1976, a Chicago park was named to honor Frank Baum’s mythical land of Oz. Bordering Webster and Larrabee Streets on Chicago’s North Side, Oz Park serves as a lasting tribute to him.

Biographical and Professional Information

L. Frank Baum was a Chicago newspaperman whose writings about Illinois were eclipsed by his chronicales of the wonderful Land of Oz. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz appeard in 1900, was an immediate success, and was produced in Chicago as a musical play in 1901. Baum follwed up his success with 13 more Oz books. The original Wizard of Oz was the basis of the classic film of 1939, starring Judy Garland.

Baum was also a playwright early in his life. It was as a writer, however, more than as a playwright, that Mr. Baum is best known. For more than twenty years he wrote children's and other stories for various magazines, including St. Nicholas, Youth's Companion and others. During his career Mr. Baum also wrote under several pen names, the "Mary Louise" books, and the "Flying Girl" and "Aunt Jane Nieces" series under the name of Edith Van Dyne, the "Boy Fortune Hunters" series under the name of Floyd Akers, the "Sam Steele" series under the name of Captain Hugh Fitzgerald, the "Twinkle Tales" and the "Babes in Birdland" under the name of Laura Bancroft, and various other books under the name of Suzanne Metcalf and Schuyler Staunton.

Published Works

  • Mother Goose in Prose, 1897
  • By the Candelabra's Glare, 1898
  • Father Goose: His Book, 1899
  • A New Wonderland, 1900 - Later published as The Magical Monarch of Mo in 1903
  • The Army Alphabet, 1900
  • The Navy Alphabet, 1900
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, 1900
  • Dot and Tot of Merryland, 1901
  • American Fairy Tales, 1901
  • The Master Key: An Electrical Fairy Tale, 1901
  • The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus, 1902
  • The Enchanted Island of Yew, 1903
  • The Marvelous Land of Oz, 1904
  • The Woggle-Bug Book, 1905
  • Queen Zixi of Ix, 1905
  • John Dough and the Cherub, 1906
  • Father Goose's Year Book: Quaint Quacks and Feathered Shafts for Mature Children, 1907
  • Ozma of Oz, 1907
  • Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz, 1908
  • The Road to Oz, 1909
  • The Emerald City of Oz, 1910
  • The Daring Twins: A Story for Young Folk, 1911
  • The Sea Fairies, 1911
  • Sky Island, 1912
  • Phoebe Daring: A Story for Young Folk, 1912
  • The Patchwork Girl of Oz, 1913
  • Little Wizard Stories of Oz, 1913
  • Tik-Tok of Oz, 1914
  • The Scarecrow of Oz, 1915
  • Rinkitink in Oz, 1916
  • The Lost Princess of Oz, 1917
  • The Tin Woodman of Oz, 1918
  • The Magic of Oz, 1919
  • Glinda of Oz, 1920

Titles at Your Library

The Marvelous Land of Oz (Books of Wonder)

ISBN: 0688054390
Release Date: 1985-08-15

Find on World Cat

The Complete Oz, Vol. 2

ISBN: 1440478902
Release Date: 2008-12-02

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

  • Name engraved on the frieze of the Illinois State Library alongside other great Illinois literary figures, 1990
  • Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, 2013

External Links

L. Frank Baum on WorldCat


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.