Saul Bellow

From Illinois Authors
Jump to: navigation, search

General Information

Celebrated on the Illinois State Library Gwendolyn Brooks Building

Bellow Saul.jpg
Name: Saul Bellow

(Born Solomon Bellows, nicknamed 'Sollie')

Genre: Fiction

Born: June 10, 1915 in Lachine, Quebec, Canada

Died: April 5, 2005 in Brookline, Massachusetts (age 89)

Saul Bellow Society Website:

Nobel Prize in Literature Website:
Photo Credit: The University of Chicago

Illinois Connection

Saul Bellow was 9 years old when his family moved from Canada to Chicago. He continued to live in Chicago until his death. He was a long-time faculty member at the University of Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Saul Bellow is the dean of contemporary Illinois writers and one of the major 20th century American writers. He was the first novelist to win three National Book Awards. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1975 for Humboldt's Gift, and the Nobel Prize for literature in 1976. Bellow was a novelist, short story writer, essayist, dramatist, editor and translator.

A long-time faculty member at the University of Chicago, his novels combine a serious concern for ideas with a keen, often comic, mastery of the details of contemporary American life, including street life. Among his novels set either wholly or partially in Chicago are: Dangling Man (1944), The Adventure of Augie March (1953), Herzog (1964), Humboldt's Gift (1975), The Dean's December (1982), and The Actual (1997).

Published Works

  • Dangling Man, Vanguard, 1944
  • The Victim, Vanguard, 1947
  • The Adventures of Augie March, Viking, 1953
  • Seize the Day, Viking, 1956
  • Henderson the Rain King, Viking, 1959
  • Herzog, Viking, 1964
  • Mosby's Memoirs, and Other Stories, Fawcett, 1968
  • Mr. Sammler`s Planet, Viking, 1970
  • Humboldt`s Gift, Viking, 1975
  • The Dean`s December, Harper, 1982
  • Him With His Foot In His Mouth, and Other Stories, Harper & Row, 1984
  • More Die of Heartbreak, Morrow, 1987
  • A Theft, Penguin, 1989
  • The Bellarosa Connection, Penguin, 1989
  • Something To Remember Me By: Three Tales, Signet, 1991
  • The Actual, Viking, 1997
  • Ravelstein, High Bridge Company, 2000
  • Collected Stories, Viking, 2001

Titles at Your Library

Dangling Man (Penguin Classics)

ISBN: 0143039873
Release Date: 2006-09-26

Find on World Cat

Victim (Penguin Modern Classics)

ISBN: 0141188839
Release Date: 2008-01-31

Find on World Cat

The Adventures of Augie March

ISBN: 0786186593
Release Date: 2008-01-01

Find on World Cat

Seize the Day (Penguin Modern Classics)

ISBN: 014118485X
Release Date: 2011-08-31

Find on World Cat

Henderson the Rain King: Penguin UK (Penguin Modern Classics)

ISBN: 0141188804
Release Date: 2011-08-31

Find on World Cat


ISBN: 0786162902
Release Date: 2006-10-01

Find on World Cat

Mosby's Memoirs and Other Stories (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin)

ISBN: 0140189459
Release Date: 1996-06-01

Find on World Cat

Saul Bellow: Novels 1956-1964: Seize the Day, Henderson the Rain King, Herzog (Library of America)

ISBN: 159853002X
Release Date: 2007-01-11

Find on World Cat

Humboldt's Gift

ISBN: 0786162554
Release Date: 2008-01-01

Find on World Cat

The Dean's December

ISBN: 0141188863
Release Date: 2008

Find on World Cat

Him With His Foot In His Mouth and Other Stories (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin)

ISBN: 0141180234
Release Date: 1998-05-01

Find on World Cat

More Die of Heartbreak (Penguin Classics)

ISBN: 0142437743
Release Date: 2004-08-31

Find on World Cat

A Theft

ISBN: 043603963X
Release Date: 1989-06-05

Find on World Cat

The Bellarosa Connection

ISBN: 0436199882
Release Date: 1990-01-15

Find on World Cat

Something to Remember Me by: Three Tales

ISBN: 0436201178
Release Date: 1992-11-09

Find on World Cat

Modern Classics Actual (Penguin Modern Classics)

ISBN: 0141188847
Release Date: 2008-03-25

Find on World Cat

Ravelstein (Penguin Great Books of the 20th Century)

ISBN: 0141001763
Release Date: 2001-05-01

Find on World Cat

Collected Stories

ISBN: 0142001643
Release Date: 2002-10-29

Find on World Cat

Literary Awards

Body of Work

  • Nobel Prize for Literature, 1976
  • Croix de Chevalier des Arts et Lettres by Republic of France (the highest literary distinction awarded by that nation to non-citizens), 1968
  • B'nai B'rith Jewish Heritage Award for "Excellence in Jewish Literature", 1968
  • America's Democratic Legacy Award of the Anti-Defamation League by B'nai B'rith, 1976 (the first time this award has been made to a literary personage)
  • Name engraved on the frieze of the Illinois State Library alongside other great Illinois literary figures, 1990
  • Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, 2010

The Adventures of Augie March

  • National Book Award Winner in Fiction, 1954


  • National Book Award in Fiction, 1965
  • International Literary Prize, 1965 - Bellow was the first American to receive the prize.

Mr. Sammler's Planet

  • National Book Award Winner in Fiction, 1971

External Links

Saul Bellow on WorldCat


This page can only be edited by Illinois Center for the Book staff, this author or this author's representatives. Please contact us for access.