Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Julia Kuo  

Pen Name: None

Genre:

Born: in

Sites:


Illinois Connection

Kuo lives in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Julia Kuo is an artist, freelance illustrator and author. She grew up in Chatsworth, California and studied illustration and marketing at Washington University in St. Louis. She later taught illustration there and worked as a greeting card designer at American Greetings while moonlighting as an illustrator. Her notable clients include: Science Friday, New York Times, State Farm, TransAsia Airways, Broadly / Vice, Mr Porter Mag, Cleveland State University, Access Contemporary Music, Hyphen Magazine, Edible Cleveland, Edible Ottawa, Universal Music Group, Capitol Records, American Greetings, Tiny Prints, the Home Shopping Network and JoAnn's Fabrics.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream
ISBN: 0316070386

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. 2011

Meet Clara Lee.

Likes: her best friends, her grandpa, her little sister (when she's not being annoying, which is almost always), candy necklaces, and the Apple Blossom Festival.

Dislikes: her little sister (when she's being annoying, which is almost always), her mom's yucky fish soup, and bad dreams (even though Grandpa says they mean good luck).

After a bad dream, Clara Lee has a whole day of good luck. But when her luck changes, she upsets her friends and family. Will Clara Lee have good luck again in time to try out for the Little Miss Apple Pie pageant?

Clara Lee is a delightful character from acclaimed author Jenny Han. This charming, humorous chapter book is perfect for fans of Clementine and Judy Moody!

The Thing About Luck
ISBN: 1442474653

Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 2014

There is bad luck, good luck, and making your own luck--which is exactly what Summer must do to save her family in this winner of the National Book Award by Newbery Medalist Cynthia Kadohata.

Summer knows that kouun means "good luck" in Japanese, and this year her family has none of it. Just when she thinks nothing else can possibly go wrong, an emergency whisks her parents away to Japan--right before harvest season. Summer and her little brother are left in the care of their grandparents -- Obaachan and Jiichan --

who come out of retirement in order to harvest wheat and help pay the bills.

The thing about Obaachan and Jiichan is that they are old-fashioned and demanding, and between helping Obaachan cook for the workers, covering for her when her back pain worsens, and worrying about her lonely little brother, Summer just barely has time to notice the attentions of their boss's cute son. But notice she does, and what begins as a welcome distraction from the hard work soon turns into a mess of its own.

Having thoroughly disappointed her grandmother, Summer figures the bad luck must be finished--but then it gets worse. And when that happens, Summer has to figure out how to change it herself, even if it means further displeasing Obaachan. Because it might be the only way to save her family.

Cynthia Kadohata's ode to the breadbasket of America has received six starred reviews and was named on numerous "best of" lists for 2013.

Daisy and Josephine
ISBN: 1442445785

Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books. 2014

New York Times bestselling author Melissa Gilbert makes her picture book debut with this fetching story about a shy little girl and her spunky dog, Josephine!

Everyone has a favorite person, and Daddy is Daisy’s. But when the two of them are on the road for Daddy’s work, Daisy sometimes feels lonely. She is very shy and wishes she had a friend. So Daddy gets Daisy a surprise: a funny-looking puppy named Josephine. They make quite a pair—Daisy with her overbite and Josephine with her underbite. Will Daisy’s rambunctious new friend help bring her out of her shell?

This charming story of an unlikely friendship, based on actress and New York Times bestselling author Melissa Gilbert’s own childhood and her very own French bull dog named Josephine is one that everyone can relate to.

“I’m so excited to share the story of Daisy and Josephine,” Melissa says. “I hope it will inspire children to be brave, to sing, and to always shine brightly!”

Go, Little Green Truck!
ISBN: 0374300704

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR). 2016

Ready, set, go!

Little Green is ready to rumble.

He is a happy, busy little pickup truck who loves helping out on the farm.

Until...

He wakes up one morning to find a big new blue truck ready to take his place.

But can Big Blue take on all the jobs? Even the small and gentle ones?

With some love, care, and paint...

Ready, set, go!

Little Green is ready to rumble again, all the way to the farmers' market.

Drawing Trees and Leaves: Observing and Sketching the Natural World (The Curious Artist)
ISBN: 1631592602

Quarry Books. 2016

Capture the essence of the forest with Drawing Trees and Leaves.

Trees are a perennially inspiring subject for artists. Think of their beautiful multicolored leaves in the fall, or the way the snow settles on their branches in the winter. Start by learning how to identify trees and leaves, their benefit and life stages, the oldest trees, famous forests, and other fascinating aspects and phases of growth. Then, use this inspiration paired with charming prompts to draw the diverse beauty of these endlessly captivating and beautiful subjects.

Flip this book open vertically

these are drawings of tall trees!

The Sound of Silence
ISBN: 0316203378

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. 2016

"Do you have a favorite sound?" little Yoshio asks. The musician answers, "The most beautiful sound is the sound of ma, of silence."


But Yoshio lives in Tokyo, Japan: a giant, noisy, busy city. He hears shoes squishing through puddles, trains whooshing, cars beeping, and families laughing. Tokyo is like a symphony hall!

Where is silence?

Join Yoshio on his journey through the hustle and bustle of the city to find the most beautiful sound of all.

Everyone Eats
ISBN: 1897476744

Simply Read Books. 2012

From rabbits to birds to mice, this board book features a wide variety of cute critters and the scrumptious foods they eat. And all the things the animals eat—carrots, berries, seeds—can be eaten by a toddler, too!

20 Ways to Draw a Cat and 44 Other Awesome Animals: A Sketchbook for Artists, Designers, and Doodlers
ISBN: 159253838X

Quarry Books. 2013

This inspiring sketchbook is part of the new

20 Ways

series from Quarry Books, designed to offer artists, designers, and doodlers a fun and sophisticated collection of illustration fun.



Each spread features 20 inspiring illustrated examples of 45 themes--cat, giraffe, seal, elephant, whale

and much, much more--over 900 drawings, with blank space for you to draw your take on 20 Ways to Draw a Cat. This is not a step-by-step technique book--rather, the stylized animals are simplified, modernized, and reduced to the most basic elements, showing you how simple abstract shapes and forms meld to create the building blocks of any item that you want to draw.

Each of the 20 interpretations provides a different, interesting approach to drawing a single item, providing loads of inspiration for your own drawing. Presented in the author’s uniquely creative style, this engaging and motivational practice book provides a new take on the world of sketching, doodling, and designing.

20 Ways to Draw a Dress and 44 Other Fabulous Fashions and Accessories: A Sketchbook for Artists, Designers, and Doodlers
ISBN: 1592538851

Quarry Books. 2013

This inspiring sketchbook is part of the new 20 Ways series from Quarry Books, designed to offer artists, designers, and doodlers a fun and sophisticated collection of illustrating fun.

Each spread features 20 inspiring illustrated examples of 45 themes - black dresses, summery hats, stylish shoes, faux fur coats, and much, much more--with blank space for you to draw your take on 20 Ways to Draw a Dress. This is not a step-by-step technique book--rather, the stylized dresses are simplified, modernized, and reduced to the most basic elements, showing you how simple abstract shapes and forms meld to create the building blocks of any item that you want to draw.

Each of the 20 interpretations provides a different, interesting approach to drawing a single item, providing loads of inspiration for your own drawing. Presented in the author's uniquely creative style, this engaging and motivational practice book provides a new take on the world of sketching, doodling, and designing. Get out your favorite drawing tool, and remember, there are not just 20 Ways to Draw a Dress!

20 Ways to Draw A Shoe and 44 Other Sneakers, Slippers, Stilettos, and Slingbacks: A Sketchbook for Artists, Designers, and Doodlers
ISBN: 1631591088

Quarry Books. 2015

Let your inner artist strut with this inspirational sketchbook that teaches you to draw anything and everything fashionable!

Strut your stuff with 20 Ways to Draw A Shoe and 44 Other Sneakers, Slippers, Stilettos, and Slingbacks. Beautifully illustrated, this inspirational sketchbook will help you learn how to draw anything on your feet. From sandals and pumps to loafers and oxfords, 20 Ways to Draw a Shoe is perfect for illustrators, doodlers, and anyone who loves to sketch.

This is not a step-by-step technique book--rather, the toe-tapping objects in this volume-- ballet flats, ankle boots, roller skates, platforms and much, much more --are simplified, modernized, and reduced to the most basic elements, showing you how simple abstract shapes and forms create the building blocks of any item that you want to draw. Presented in Julia Kuo's creative style, each of the 20 interpretations provides a different, interesting approach to drawing a single item, providing loads of inspiration for your own drawing.

Get out your favorite drawing tool, and remember, there are not just 20 Ways to Draw a Shoe!

In this volume: sandals, pumps, loafers, oxfords, slippers, stilettos, sneakers, ballet flats, platforms, roller skates, booties and more