Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Jeffrey Michael Ruby  

Pen Name: Jeff Ruby

Genre:

Born: in

Sites:


Illinois Connection

Ruby lives in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Jeffrey Michael Ruby is the chief dining critic at Chicago magazine. He has reviewed restaurants and been an editor there since 1997. He spent 11 years as the magazine's humor columnist, and wrote a blog about his wife's various pregnancies. Ruby has also written features on food, sports, travel, and celebrities, and earned nine nominations from the City and Regional Magazine Association for best food/dining criticism and best column. His writing has appeared in Esquire, GQ, Playboy, Men's Journal, Food Network magazine, and pregnancy.org. He wrote ''The Official Chicago Bar Guide'' in 2001 and ''Everybody Loves Pizza: The Deep Dish on America’s Favorite Food'' which was featured on The Food Network, History Channel, NPR, CBS, and Oprah. ''Penelope March Is Melting'' is his first novel.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

The Official Chicago Bar Guide
ISBN: 0963889311

Buckingham Books. 2001

This fun, hip guide to Chicago's bar scene scours the city from Rogers Park to Beverly, reviewing hundreds of entertainment choices. It appeals to any funloving nightcrawler, whether new arrival, visitor, or native Chicagoan searching for a cozy neighborhood hideaway, jumping after-work hangout, or energized late night dance club. Concise descriptions of each bar's location, atmosphere, patrons, prices, hours of operation, and fun facts are included, with special attention paid to little-known taverns that other guides may overlook. Each bar is rated and indexed according to such attributes as live music, ethnic food, beer gardens, great jukeboxes, fireplaces, and more.

Everybody Loves Pizza: The Deep Dish on America's Favorite Food
ISBN: 1578602181

Clerisy Press. 2005

Everybody Loves Pizza is a celebration of America's favorite dish -- its history, its versatility, its staying power. It delves into where pizza came from, where it's going, and what it means to American culture. Thanks to food writers, pizza insiders, and ordinary, pizza-loving Americans, it also reveals where to find 540 top-notch pizzas across the country, plus recipes from the familiar (Pepperoni or Barbecue Chicken Pizza) to the adventurous (Shrimp Pizza with Tasso Ham, Goat Cheese, and Spinach or Prosciutto Pear Pizza).

Penelope March Is Melting
ISBN: 1524718289

Delacorte Books for Young Readers. 2017

“A marvelous and magical debut!” —Pseudonymous Bosch, New York Times bestselling author of the Secret Series and the Bad Books

An icy-cold mystery adventure to warm your heartperfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library!

Something sinister has come to Glacier Cove, an icy-cold town that sits on top of an iceberg

. Nothing bad ever happens here. Until now. And it's up to Penelope March to stop it.



Mmm-hmm, that Penelope—the bookworm who lives in the ramshackle house with her brother, Miles. The girl with the mom who—poof!—disappeared. The one everyone ignores . . . except strange Coral Wanamaker, a tiny thing with raven-black hair and a black coat.


When Penelope meets someone who seems to know secrets not only about Glacier Cove but about Penelope herself, she and Miles are pulled into an ancient mystery. Together, they’ll face the coldest, cruelest enemy ever known. Looks like the girl who only reads about adventures is going to start living one.

Magic cookies! Volcanoes! Penguins! Sea monsters! And a girl hero with the strength and imagination to spring into action.


Awards

-- Gold Medal, National City and Regional Magazine Association for food/dining criticism, 2003 and 2004