Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Harold Brodkey  

Pen Name: None

Genre:

Audience: Adult;

Born: October 25, 1930 in Staunton, Illinois


-- Wikipedia -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harold_Brodkey
-- Harold Brodkey on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=harold+brodkey


Illinois Connection

Brodkey was born in Staunton, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Brodkey was an American author. He was a staff writer for ''The New Yorker''.


Selected Titles At Your Library

First love and other sorrows :
ISBN: 0805060103. OCLC Number: 38976283

H. Holt and Co.,. .

In First Love and Other Sorrows, the young Brodkey chronicles the world of the educated and affluent middle class of the 1950s, at leisure and in love. He establishes themes that would appear throughout his career: the painful uncertainties of childhood and the halting intimacies of social life. This edition includes three never-before-collected stories, to complete an anthology of rare tenderness, humor, and haunting insight.

First love and other sorrows :
ISBN: 9781480427976. OCLC Number: 853623450

Open Road Media,. .

In the vein of John Cheever and J.D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young love First Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch & mdash;and with him the world of privilege. Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother & mdash;each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society & mdash;these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.

Liebeserkla╠łrungen und andere letzte Worte :
ISBN: 3498006029. OCLC Number: 76272307

Rowohlt,. .

My Venice /
ISBN: 0805048332. OCLC Number: 37373608

Metropolitan Books, H. Holt,. .

"Harold Brodkey first visited Venice in 1960, and his love of the city - its churches and vaporetti, its capacity to bewilder and seduce - brought him back time and again to the shores of the Adriatic in search of fresh inspiration. Brodkey's Venice is a city marked by powerful contrasts: solemn, fatalistic religiosity alongside exuberant mercantile optimism; pride beside humility; the sacred next to the profane. Illustrated with photographs by the renowned Italian photographer Giuseppe Bruno, My Venice combines passages from several of Brodkey's greatest works with previously unpublished notes and essays."--BOOK JACKET.

Profane friendship.
ISBN: 0374529736. OCLC Number: 947034201

Farrar, Straus & Giroux,. .

RUNAWAY SOUL.
ISBN: 0374538867. OCLC Number: 1081387118

FARRAR, STRAUS & GIROUX,. .

Sea battles on dry land :
ISBN: 0805060529. OCLC Number: 40074016

Metropolitan Books,. .

"Sea Battles on Dry Land gathers the best of Harold Brodkey's essays into a single volume. His "One of the Rules of Foppishness" explains, with deadpan precision, just what men and women are trying to communicate to each other by the way they dress. The previously unpublished "Notes on American Fascism" eerily anticipates the violence of latter-day militia groups. And Brodkey's profile of Frank O'Hara's Harvard years stands as one of the most eloquent portraits of a legendary American writer."--Jacket.

Stories in an almost classical mode
ISBN: 9780307766779. OCLC Number: 679997306

Vintage Books,. .

Stories in an almost classical mode /
ISBN: 0679724311. OCLC Number: 19920578

Vintage Books,. .

The runaway soul /
ISBN: 0374252866. OCLC Number: 24575757

. .

The world is the home of love and death :
ISBN: 0805059997. OCLC Number: 876617516

Metropolitan Books,. .

The world is the home of love and death.
ISBN: 9780007401796. OCLC Number: 891751214

. .

This wild darkness :
ISBN: 0805048316. OCLC Number: 34557220

H. Holt,. .

One day in the spring of 1993, author Harold Brodkey checked into a Manhattan emergency room unable to move and scarcely able to breathe. When he was later diagnosed with the AIDS virus, Brodkey greeted the devastating--and completely unexpected--news with an odd lightheartedness, a perverse fascination with his passage from the ranks of the living to the fraternity of the dying. As a novelist, he refused the fate that had been assigned to him: his acute editorial sensibility told him that he had been badly miscast as a condemned man. In This Wild Darkness, Brodkey, who died on January 26, 1996, examines his predicament with the same irony and lucidity he brought to his acclaimed fiction. Part journal, part memoir, part essay, this book offers a frank and profound exploration of Brodkey's sexuality, his relationships, and the slow, withering advance of his disease. A stirring self-portrait from one of our greatest men of letters, This Wild Darkness lends a fresh and heroic perspective to the subject of AIDS, death, and love.

This wild darkness :
ISBN: 9780007401741. OCLC Number: 875631557

. .

Women and angels /
ISBN: 0827602502. OCLC Number: 11397804

Jewish Publication Society of America,. .

Series: The Author's Workshop.

Women and Angels.
ISBN: 9781480428003. OCLC Number: 968072393

Open Road Media. .

From Harold Brodkey come three remarkable stories about the brief lives of two women and the troubling appearance of an angel above Harvard University Considered by many to be among the greatest American writers of the twentieth century, Harold Brodkey created fiction that startled, provoked, and often confounded. These three novellas, told through the recollections of fictional alter ego, Wiley Silenowicz, serve as sterling examples of Brodkey's magnificent talent. In?Ceil,? Wiley imagines the mother he never knew, brilliantly reinventing the woman who died when he was a child of two, creating a parent both idealized and painfully real. In?Lila,? Wiley remembers his adoptive mother, an unloving and unlovable, self-involved woman, whose early death from cancer left a permanent void in his family. And in?Angel,?the book's remarkable closing piece, Wiley recalls a heavenly visitation that came to him and many others while studying at Harvard University, and which heralded a truth most difficult to bear. For lovers of literature who have yet to experience Brodkey's unique style, soaring language, and conceptual brilliance, Women and Angels is a marvelous introduction to an American master.