Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Josh Karp  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Adult;

Born: 1966 in Chicago, Illinois


-- Facebook -- http://www.facebook.com/StraightDownTheMiddle=josh+karp#!/StraightDownTheMiddle=josh+karp
-- Website -- http://www.joshkarpbooks.com
-- Josh Karp on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=josh+karp


Illinois Connection

Karp was born in Chicago and graduated from Northwestern University. He currently resides in Glenco, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Karp has written for ''Atlantic Monthly'', ''Salon'', ''Premiere'', ''LA Times Sunday Magazine'', ''TimeOut New York'', ''Chicago Magazine'', ''Chicago Sun-Times'' and other publications. He received his Master's in Journalism from Northwestern University and is an adjunct lecturer of journalism at Northwestern, University. He has also taught at Loyola and DePaul.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Straight Down the Middle: Shivas Irons, Bagger Vance, and How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Golf Swing
ISBN: 081186359X

Chronicle Books. 2010

Straight Down the Middle is a humorous and insightful account of journalist and former-18-handicap golfer Josh Karp's quest to achieve inner peace and improve his golf gameall through the art of Zen. Assisted by a quirky roster of excellent practitioners of esoteric, Eastern-fueled, nontraditional golf instruction, Karp embarks on a unique journey across the fairways of North America (and Scotland, of course!) that's as funny as it is illuminating. A golf story in the tradition of The Legend of Bagger Vance, Straight Down the Middle is a blend of helpful tips and hilarious memoir that's a must-read for golfers of all stripes and plaids.


Awards

Josh Karp's first book, A Futile and Stupid Gesture

Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (Yes)