Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Clare O'Donohue  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction Mystery

Audience: Adult;

Born: 1964 in Chicago, Illinois


-- Website -- http://www.clareodonohue.com
-- Clare O'Donohue on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=clare++o%27donohue


Illinois Connection

Clare O’Donohue grew up on Chicago’s South Side, the youngest of four children of Irish parents. She now lives in LaGrange, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Clare began her writing career as a newspaper reporter for a small weekly paper outside Joliet, Illinois. She covered everything from school board meetings to murder trials, and wrote a weekly column. For the last thirteen years she has worked in television, writing and producing for shows on HGTV, truTV, The History Channel, Food Network, A&E and others. In 2008 she published her first novel, The Lover's Knot. She currently writes two mystery series: The Someday Quilts books about an upstate NY quit shop called "Jane Marple on steroids" by Suspense Magazine, and The Kate Conway Mysteries about a freelance TV producer and the odd, funny and sometimes painful friendship she has forged with her late husband's mistress. Mystery Gazette has called the latest in the series, "An exhilarating whodunnit with a psychological underpinning"


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

The Lover's Knot: A Someday Quilts Mystery
ISBN: 0452289793

Plume. 2008

Book #1 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

In the tradition of Jennifer Chiaverini and Emilie Richards, a debut quilting mystery

Nell Fitzgerald is thrilled when she receives a gorgeous handmade quilt in a lover's knot pattern from her grandmother Eleanor as an engagement gift. Her joy is short-lived, however, when her fianc announces he's calling off the wedding. Heartbroken, 25-year-old Nell flees New York City for her grandmother's home in quaint Archers Rest. In this small town Eleanor's life revolves around her quilt shop, Someday Quilts, and the members of the shop's quilting circle.

When the body of a local handyman known for his flirting is found in the quilt shop, murdered with a pair of quilting scissors, Nell finds herself drawn into the case, and drawn to the handsome police chief. As a pattern of clues begins to emerge, one of the prime suspects is Nell's ex-fianc, whose arrival in Archers Rest seems suspicious. The ladies of the quilting circle continue to piece together their quilts as Nell unravels the mystery. For quilters and mystery lovers alike, The Lover's Knot is a delightful and promising debut.

A Drunkard's Path: A Someday Quilts Mystery
ISBN: 0452295580

Plume. 2009

Book #2 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

By the author of The Lover?s Knot, a brand-new quilting mystery in the tradition of Jennifer Chiaverini and Emilie Richards.

In the sleepy town of Archers Rest, Nell Fitzgerald is finishing her first quilt and preparing for her first date? with Police Chief Jesse Dewalt. When Jesse stands her up, it turns out he has a good reason?the body of a murdered young woman has been discovered near the Hudson River.

Meanwhile the members of Nell?s quilting circle encourage her to take drawing classes with the famous artist Oliver White. When Nell?s professor meets her grandmother Eleanor, owner of the Someday Quilts shop, he seems instantly smitten. But once another woman?s body is found outside her grandmother?s home under a blanket of snow, Nell begins to patch together clues and follow a path of evidence that suggests her professor may also have a degree in the art of murder.

The Double Cross: A Someday Quilts Mystery featuring Nell Fitzgerald
ISBN: 0452296420

Plume. 2010

Book #3 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

A knotty new Nell Fitzgerald mystery in the series that's beguiling cozy fans and quilters alike.

Nell Fitzgerald and the Someday Quilts ladies are asked to lead a quilting workshop at a new bed and breakfast in upstate New York. However, the retreat quickly takes an unexpected dark turn. When a body is found in the woods, and one of their own is the chief suspect, the ladies must rely on their craftiest thinking as they embark on their most personal case yet.

With smart, sassy Nell leading the charge to clear her friend's name and find the real murderer, The Double Cross is sure to confirm Clare O'Donohue as a master of the mystery genre.

The Devil's Puzzle: A Someday Quilts Mystery
ISBN: 0452297370

Plume. 2011

Book #4 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

Nell and the crafty Someday Quilters undertake their first cold case in the latest addition to this bewitching series.

After their quilting retreat upstate, the Someday Quilts ladies return to Archers Rest to prepare for the town's big anniversary celebration. But their plans are unexpectedly derailed by the discovery of a human skeleton in Nell's grandmother's backyard-making Eleanor the prime suspect in a murder. But a skeleton isn't the only thing that's long been buried. When a wave of vandalism raises fears that the town's bygone history of witchcraft has been reawakened, secrets are unearthed that could change life in Archers Rest forever. In addition to a thrilling mystery and the warm camaraderie of the ladies, The Devil's Puzzle is full of the quilting lore and techniques that Clare O'Donohue's readers adore.

Missing Persons: A Kate Conway Mystery
ISBN: 0452297060

Plume. 2011

The debut of an exciting new mystery series featuring a

funny,

but cynical

television producer turned amateur sleuth.

The cause of death is "undetermined," but the cops peg Chicago television producer Kate Conway as the main suspect when her soon-to-be ex-husband, Frank, is found dead. To make matters worse-and weirder- Frank's new girlfriend suddenly wants to be friends.

Happy for the distraction, Kate throws herself into a new work assignment for the television program Missing Persons: the story of Theresa Moretti, a seemingly angelic young woman who disappeared a year earlier. All Kate wants is a clich story and twenty-two minutes of footage, but when the two cases appear to overlap, Kate needs to work fast before another body turns up-her own.

Life Without Parole: A Kate Conway Mystery
ISBN: 0452297826

Plume. 2012

Missing Persons will have readers eagerly waiting for show time on Kate’s next case.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

After the death of her ex-husband, things are finally returning to normal for Kate Conway—so normal that she’s gotten a little bored. Out of the blue, the television producer is offered a documentary gig about lifers in a state prison. Kate jumps at the chance. The only problem is that she’s also just been asked to produce a reality show about the opening of a new restaurant—one backed by Vera, her dead husband’s mistress. Reluctantly, she agrees to both.

But when one of the restaurant’s investors is murdered and Vera is the chief suspect, Kate must ride a treacherous psychological edge, relying on the minds of death row killers to help her solve the case.

Praise for Clare O’Donohue’s Missing Persons:

“Fascinating characters, multi-faceted story lines, and plenty of action.”—Midwest Book Review

“A series worth collecting.”—Suspense magazine