Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Elizabeth Crane  

Pen Name: None

Genre:

Audience: Adult;

Born: in New York


-- Website -- http://www.elizabethcrane.com
-- Elizabeth Crane on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=elizabeth++crane


Illinois Connection

Elizabeth Crane lives in Chicago, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Elizabeth Crane teaches writing at Northwestern's School of Continuing Studies and The University of Chicago. Her work has been featured in ''McSweeney's The Future Dictionary of America '' and ''The Best Underground Fiction''.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

When the Messenger Is Hot: Stories
ISBN: 0316608467

Back Bay Books. 2004

Features the stories of women recovering from loss, addiction, or betrayal, from a woman who decides to live on the patio rooftop of her friend's apartment, to a writer whose identity is compromised by the actress who portrays her, to a daughter who believes her mother is still alive. Readers' Guide included. Reprint. 30,000 first printing.

All This Heavenly Glory
ISBN: 0316014214

Back Bay Books. 2006

The glittering new book from the author hailed by the Chicago Tribune as "unique, intriguing, and often hilarious."

Here are the events that make up a life: a junior high school fashion crisis, a best friend's betrayal, substance abuse, recovery, finding a satisfying career, dating fiascos, the perfect relationship, the illness and slow death of a parent. This is the life of Charlotte Anne Byers, told by Elizabeth Crane, whose debut, When the Messenger Is Hot, has been praised across the country for its humor and grace.
From the time she moved to New York as a young girl, desperate to tame her ridiculed southern accent, Charlotte Anne Byers has struggled to fit in-even while her strong will makes her clash with everything and everyone around her. With her mother pursuing a career as an opera singer and her father returning to Iowa, Charlotte is caught in the divide between her parents' dreams. She finds a touchstone in Jenna, a friend who will be by Charlotte's side through the death of her mother, several failed career moves, even more failed romances, a detour into alcoholism, and finding true love. In her lifetime Charlotte finds hope and disappointment mingled with faith and desperation, laughter on the heels of weeping, and success assuaging the pain of the most embarrassing failures-her path both all her own and instantly familiar.
All This Heavenly Glory confirms Elizabeth Crane's talents as the writer the San Francisco Chronicle called "hilariously off kilter and utterly refreshing." With whimsy, skepticism, and undaunted emotional frankness, she paints a dazzling portrait of one woman's unique desires and heartbreaks.

You Must Be This Happy to Enter: Stories (Punk Planet Books)
ISBN: 1933354437

Akashic Books. 2008

Whether breathlessly enthusiastic, serenely calm, or really concentrating right now on their personal zombie issues, Elizabeth Crane’s happy cast explores the complexities behind personal satisfaction.

Elizabeth Crane is the author of two previous story collections, When the Messenger is Hot and All This Heavenly Glory. Her work has also been featured in numerous publications, including Chicago Reader and The Believer, as well as several anthologies, including McSweeney’s Future Dictionary of America and The Best Underground Fiction. A winner of the Chicago Public Library’s 21st Century Award, Crane teaches creative writing at Northwestern’s School of Continuing Studies, The School of the Art Institute, and The University of Chicago. She lives in Chicago.

We Only Know So Much
ISBN: 0062099477

Harper Perennial. 2012

A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago’s Writer’s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau’s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals.

“Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting.” —New York Times Book Review


Awards

N/A

Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (No)