Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Judith Reveal  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Adult; Young Adult;

Born: 1945 in Chicago, Illinois

-- Website --
-- Judith Reveal on WorldCat --

Illinois Connection

The author was born in Chicago and attended high school in Berwyn where she graduated in 1963.

Biographical and Professional Information

Ms. Reveal worked for Eastern Airlines in Chicago and Oakbrook, IL from 1966 to 1981 when she transferred to Miami, FL and remained with the company until 1987. She moved to Maryland in 1987 where she currently lives on the Eastern Shore. She managed various telephone call centers in Maryland from 1987 until 1998 when she began working as the Executive Director of the Kent County (MD) Chamber of Commerce and she retired from the chamber after 10 years, in 2007.She began writing fiction in 1986 and continues to this day. In addition, she is a professional freelance book indexer and has indexed over 30 books. As a member of the American Society for Indexing, she was the editor of the organization's quarterly publication, "KeyWords" for five years. She is a freelance editor working primarily with new/intermediate authors in both fiction and nonfiction. Ms. Reveal has served two terms as president of the Maryland Writers' Association; two years as vice-president of the Eastern Shore Writers' Association (ESWA); two years as president of ESWA; three years as editor of the organization's monthly news bulletin. She also writes book reviews for the New York Journal of Books, [] and she tutors students in English at Delaware Technical Community College. Ms. Reveal is currently working on a fourth book in her mystery series set on Maryland's Eastern Shore. In addition, she is finishing a book of essays about growing up middle class after World War II. This book focuses on the first 14 years of her life in Berwyn, IL.

Published Works Expand for more information

Titles At Your Library

The Brownstone
ISBN: 1479194670

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 2012

Midway through the brisk fall of 1941, Morris and Sadie Goldstein begin to cultivate a small community of tenants in their six-flat brownstone. As World War II descends, this group has no options but to cling to one another. The fate of each tenant depends on the relationships they develop as they grapple with the outcomes of war. The Brownstone is a story of compassion, grief, love, and understanding shared by this small, eclectic community.

A House to Kill For: Lindsey Gale Series, Vol. 3
ISBN: 1613860250

Cambridge Books. 2011

As Lindsey Gale's life begins to return to a moderate form of normality, her ex-husband, John Michael, shows up, claiming he wants her back. Already in a committed relationship with Bobby Smith, the Caroline County Sheriff, Lindsey emphatically declines. Not to be put off, John Michael purchases a local historical home and moves his entire entertainment company to Greensboro, much to the dismay of his junior partners. At the opening of his newly renovated home, Lindsey, Bobby, and Conrad Trent, all appear only to watch as the wife of one of John Michael's partners is found murdered. Bobby steps in and takes on the role as investigating officer and within hours a local businesswoman disappears, and soon thereafter John Michael is murdered. Mayhem ensues as Lindsey becomes a suspect in John Michael's murder, and Bobby is forced to remove himself from the investigation. Through the competent sleuthing of Lindsey, Conrad, and Bobby, the murderer is uncovered, but not before Lindsey's life is put in jeopardy.

The Music Room: Lindsey Gale Series, Vol. 2
ISBN: 159431702X

Write Words, Inc.. 2009

Yippee! Lindsey Gale is back for another great read. Judith C. Reveal’s new mystery series, set on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, continues to supply both good writing and great plot.

Cheating Death: Book 1 of the Lindsey Gale Series
ISBN: 1594315922

Write Words, Inc.. 2008

Just as recently divorced Lindsey Gale begins to bring balance into her personal life, she discovers that her new role as publisher of the Greensboro Press is anything but stable. Lindsey is asked to investigate the death of a friend who had been staying at The Writers’ Bloc, a writers’ retreat located on Maryland’s rustic Eastern Shore. Lindsey reluctantly takes on the assignment and soon finds herself face to face with the retreat’s reclusive owner and noted author, Odious Clay. With the help of Conrad Trent, her managing editor and closest confidant, she digs into the background of the retreat, Odious Clay and the eclectic group of residents and attendees and soon finds herself facing a publisher’s greatest nightmare –– plagiarism peppered with a dash of murder.

Around Greensboro (Images of America)
ISBN: 0738553727

Arcadia Publishing. 2008

The quaint town of Greensboro, Maryland, is nestled in the middle of the Delmarva Peninsula on Maryland’s Eastern Shore where its American roots travel across the Choptank River and reach deep into the agricultural soil of Caroline County. The Choptank River’s path meanders up the peninsula from the Chesapeake Bay, cutting through Caroline County, and it is at the great bend in the river that Peter Harrington brought into full bloom his grandfather Peter Rich’s vision of a town. This location was vital to the movement of products to and from people living in the middle of the peninsula, and Greensboro quickly grew into a thriving small port town where businesses, including tanneries and shipbuilding, appeared. Greensboro’s accessibility to Washington, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Wilmington makes this quiet town a convenient bedroom community with big-town access and rural serenity.

Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (No)