Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Emily Ecton  

Pen Name: Emily Fairlie

Genre: Fiction

Born: 1970 Chicago, Illinois

Sites:


Illinois Connection

Emily lives in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Emily Ecton is a writer and producer for ''Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me!'', the NPR news quiz. She has also been a playwright, a chinchilla wrangler, an ice cream scooper and a costume character.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Boots and Pieces
ISBN: 1416961674

Aladdin. 2008

Her big sister bosses her around

her mom makes her dog-sit Mr. Boots, the family's well-dressed Chihuahua

and she's convinced a strange and squishy swamp creature that lives down at the lake is eating high school kids.

When no one believes her, Arlie and her best friend, Ty (yes, he's a boy, and no, he's not her boyfriend), set out with Mr. Boots to stop the creature themselves -- because if they don't, half the school is going to end up as lakeside hors d'oeuvres!

The Curse of Cuddles McGee
ISBN: 1416964509

Aladdin. 2008

While poking around their neighborhood, mystery-solving, swamp monster-fighting middle-graders Arlie and Ty fi nd a buried coffee can fi lled with the bones of a hamster and the handwritten curse (on glittery unicorn notepaper) from his home-schooled owner, Mandy:

"Here lies Cuddles McGee. A curse upon those who disturb his grave."

The fact that the i in "lies" is topped with a heart doesn't make them any less scared, especially when the obese, angry, and undead Cuddles comes back to life and starts trashing the town.

Once again, it's up to Arlie, Ty, and Mr. Boots -- the fashionably dressed Chihuahua, to save the town from destruction, reanimated dead hamster-style.

Night of the Living Lawn Ornaments
ISBN: 1416964517

Aladdin. 2009

When Arlie, Ty, and the ever-present Mr. Boots discover an old dragonfly pendant, they don't think much of it -- it's just another thing to keep mr. Boots from trying to swallow. But when the pendant turns out to have odd powers -- powers to make all of the lawn ornaments and decorationsin town come to life -- it's time for Arlie and Ty (and Mr. Boots, if they can drag him out from under the couch cushions) to put a stop to all this supernatural nonsense!

Project Jackalope
ISBN: 1452101558

Chronicle Books. 2012

Jeremy's troubles begin when his eccentric neighbor leaves him an "experiment" for safekeeping—a jackalope! This so-called mythological creature looks like a bunny rabbit, but comes with razor-sharp antlers and is purported to be a ruthless killer. When government agents show up at Jeremy's house seeking the jackalope for their own nefarious purposes, Jeremy must find a way to protect the jackalope, and himself. So he reluctantly joins forces with Agatha, his holier-than-thou genius neighbor. Together, with the jackalope (and his weapons-grade antlers) tucked away in a backpack, they have only one chance to save Jack and still get their science fair projects in on time. With her striking sense of humor, Emily Ecton has created a hilarious and suspenseful adventure, complete with a compelling and unforgettable cast of characters.

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck (Tuckernuck Mysteries)
ISBN: 0062118919

Katherine Tegen Books. 2013

This laugh-out-loud novel by Emily Fairlie is a fresh take on the classic mystery caper. It's perfect for fans of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.

Using a unique blend of notes, lists, and classic prose, The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck tells the story of Bud and Laurie's quest to find the infamous Tutweiler Treasure. They're hot (or at least lukewarm) on the trail of scavenger hunt clues, but time is running out—the school board wants to tear down Tuckernuck Hall. Can Bud and Laurie find the treasure before it's lost forever?

Readers can enjoy solving puzzles along with the characters, and teachers will appreciate references to famous artists and architects such as Pablo Picasso and Frank Lloyd Wright. There is something for everyone in this treasure trove of wry wit, thrilling adventure, and undeniable heart!

The Magician's Bird (Tuckernuck Mysteries)
ISBN: 0062118943

Katherine Tegen Books. 2014

In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.

In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more serious than a treasure hunt—their beloved school founder, Maria Tutweiler, has been accused of murdering Marchetti the Magician! Can Bud and Laurie—with the help of enthusiastic Misti and evil but useful Calliope—prove Maria Tutweiler's innocence? Or will Tuckernuck Hall be closed down for good?

Emily Fairlie once again blends lists, notes, and classic prose to tell a story that sings with humor, suspense, and magic.