Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Nancy S. Wikarski  

Pen Name: NS Wikarski

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Adult;

Born:


-- Website -- http://www.mythofhistory.com
-- Nancy S. Wikarski on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=nancy+s.+wikarski


Illinois Connection

The author earned her PhD from the University of Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

After earning her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago, Nancy Wikarski became a computer consultant and then turned to writing mysteries and alternative history fiction. Her short stories have appeared in ''Futures Magazine'' and ''DIME Anthology'', while her book reviews have been featured in ''Murder: Past Tense'' and ''Deadly Pleasures''. She has written the ''Gilded Age Mystery'' series set in 1890s Chicago. The series has received People's Choice Award nominations for best first novel and best historical. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters In Crime.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

The Fall of White City
ISBN: 0972033505

Northgate Press LLC. 2002

Nominated for Reader's Choice Awards as Best First Novel and Best Historical Mystery (Love Is Murder, February 2003)
VICTORIAN CHICAGO MYSTERIES
For fans of Mystery, Historical Fiction, and Turn-of-the Century Chicago
Chicago in the 1890s is the fastest growing metropolis in America. It rivals New York as the City of the Century and the epitome of the Gilded Age. This melting pot of thieves and corrupt politicians, robber barons and immigrants, is rife with scandal and social injustice. An eccentric heiress and a cub reporter find themselves repeatedly drawn into the hidden world of intrigue and murder that lurks within the shadows of the White City.

Volume One - The Fall of White City
Wealthy spinster Evangeline LeClair leads a paradoxical life. By day, she fends off marriage-minded suitors. By night, she teaches English to factory workers at a social settlement in the slums. Evangeline is quite satisfied with the status quo until murder disrupts her routine. One of her students, a penniless immigrant named Elsa, has been stabbed to death in Chicago's most exclusive hotel. Elsa's brother Franz, a known anarchist, is accused of the crime.

Evangeline believes she can aid Franz by tracking down the real killer herself. She wheedles her admirer, Freddie Simpson, into helping her investigate. Their list of possible suspects is long: a captain of industry, a denizen of the slums, a shady doctor who mixes his own drugs, or a teenage prostitute from a sporting house in the Levee District. The gleaming surface of the World's Fair casts many shadows. THE FALL OF WHITE CITY exposes the darkness at its core.

Shrouded in Thought
ISBN: 0972033513

Northgate Press LLC. 2005

Nominated for a Reader's Choice Award as Best Historical Mystery and for a Lovey Award as Best Traditional Amateur Sleuth (Love Is Murder, February 2005)
VICTORIAN CHICAGO MYSTERIES
For fans of Mystery, Historical Fiction, and Turn-of-the Century Chicago
Chicago in the 1890s is the fastest growing metropolis in America. It rivals New York as the City of the Century and the epitome of the Gilded Age.This melting pot of thieves and corrupt politicians, robber barons and immigrants, is rife with scandal and social injustice. An eccentric heiress and a cub reporter find themselves repeatedly drawn into the hidden world of intrigue and murder that lurks within the shadows of the White City.

Volume 2 - Shrouded in Thought
Rookie journalist Freddie Simpson finds himself on the horns of a dilemma when he is sent to cover the accidental drowning of a factory worker. It takes only a few minutes to convince him that the girl was murdered, probably by the suspicious vagrant he notices hovering around the crime scene.

Freddie tries to drag his friend Evangeline into the case, but she has problems of her own. She's already knee-deep in a civic investigation to resolve the Pullman Strike that has crippled national train service and threatens to tear Chicago apart. Evangeline's priorities shift radically, however, when Freddie's prime suspect is implicated in the poisoning of one of her neighbors.
For the two amateur detectives, a random drowning becomes intertwined with labor riots, a national railroad strike, a medium who speaks to the dead, a blackmailer, and a murderer intent on covering his tracks by any means necessary. In SHROUDED IN THOUGHT, a killer learns he can outrun everything except a guilty conscience.

The Granite Key (Arkana Archaeology Mystery Thriller Series Book 1)
ISBN: B004NIFTI8

. 2013

ARCHAEOLOGY ADVENTURES THAT DEFY HISTORY
Series Finale Award-Nominated as Best Mystery of the Month (L.A.S. Reviews, February 2017)


The Arkana Series

By 1000 BCE, Minoan civilization is hovering on the brink of collapse. Weakened by earthquakes and tidal waves, the Cretan empire has become easy prey for marauders from the European mainland. In a desperate attempt to preserve some vestige of their culture, the Minoans hide their greatest treasures where no barbarian can ever find them. Legend has it that the objects are worth a king's ransom in gold and precious gems. Greatest among them is the Sage Stone which is rumored to give immense power to its possessor.

The Minoan artifacts remain lost for three thousand years until a clue surfaces as to their whereabouts. A secret society known as the Arkana mobilizes to find the relics. The Arkana seeks to collect and preserve artifacts that disprove the patriarchal record of human history, and the recovery of the Sage Stone is vital to that mission. A fanatical religious cult called the Blessed Nephilim is equally determined to capture the Sage Stone and exploit it for a darker purpose.

The quest for the Minoan cache places two rival factions on a collision course with disaster. Only one faction can win. More importantly, only one is likely to survive.

Volume 1 - The Granite Key
In THE GRANITE KEY, an antique dealer is murdered for a mysterious cipher stone that reveals the location of the Minoan artifacts. The victim's sister Cassie is stunned to learn of her elder sibling's double life as an Arkana agent.

Cassie joins forces with the secret society to find her sister's killer and locate the trove. Accompanied by two field agents, she travels to Crete to hunt for clues unaware that she may be the only living person able to find the coveted treasure. Her task is simple. All she has to do is stay alive. Easier said than done.


Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (No)