Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Michelle Falkoff  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Young Adult;

Born:


-- Facebook -- https://www.facebook.com/michelle.falkoff/
-- Twitter -- https://mobile.twitter.com/account/suspended
-- Website -- http://www.michellefalkoff.com
-- Michelle Falkoff on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=michelle+falkoff


Illinois Connection

Falkoff lives in Chicago and serves as the Director of Communication and Legal Reasoning program at Northwestern Pritzker School of Law. She also teaches fiction at the University of Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Michelle Falkoff is a law professor and young adult author. She joined Northwestern’s Communication and Legal Reasoning Faculty as Director and Associate Professor of Law in 2013. She received her law degree from Columbia Law School and practiced intellectual property litigation in Silicon Valley for several years before going back to school to receive her Master of Fine Arts in Fiction Writing from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. Her fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVA, DoubleTake, and the Harvard Review, among other places.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Playlist for the Dead
ISBN: 006231050X

HarperTeen. 2015

“A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire.” —Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff’s debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that’s always defined you—and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam’s best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam—listen and you’ll understand.

To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn’t as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he’ll finally be able to piece together his best friend’s story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

“An absorbing and sensitive read.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam’s engaging investigation.” —ALA Booklist

“Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers.”

School Library Journal

“Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care.” —Publishers Weekly

“Truly powerful moments.”

Kirkus Reviews

Pushing Perfect
ISBN: 0062310534

HarperTeen. 2016

A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this smart, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead. Fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History will devour this layered, ensemble-cast novel in which “twists and turns abound” (SLJ).

How far would you go to be perfect?

Kara has the perfect life. At least, that’s what she wants everyone to believe. The truth is, she works hard to maintain that illusion.

But when a moment of doubt leads Kara to do something risky—and illegal—someone sees. Before she knows it, she’s drawn into an unlikely group of classmates, all bound together by secrets of their own. Secrets that are being used against them.

Soon Kara is forced to confront how far she’s willing to go to be perfect—and if that’s something she really wants to be.

“Reminiscent of the novels of Joan Lowery Nixon and Lois Duncan, this mystery set in a modern-day well-to-do suburb in California will keep readers turning the pages.”

School Library Journal

“Full of well-developed, diverse supporting characters. For teens who enjoy mysteries in the form of timely, realistic fiction.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Readers will be kept guessing.” —Kirkus Reviews

Questions I Want to Ask You
ISBN: 0062680234

HarperTeen. 2018

A mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back, perfect for fans of David Arnold and Jeff Zentner.

Patrick “Pack” Walsh may not know where he’s going in life, but he’s happy where he is. Then, on his eighteenth birthday, a letter from his past changes everything.

As Pack begins a journey to uncover the truth about the parents he thought he knew, the family he didn’t know he had, and the future he never realized he wanted, he starts to have a whole different understanding of his life—and where he wants to go from here.

Praise for Michelle Falkoff:

“Twists and turns abound. Will keep readers turning pages.” —School Library Journal

on Pushing Perfect

“Truly powerful moments.” —

Kirkus Reviews on Playlist for the Dead


Awards

'''''Playlist for the Dead'''''

Great Read List, NPR, 2015

ILLINOIS READS Book Selection, Illinois Reading Council, 2017

Availability for Public Speaking

Speaking Engagement Availability: (Yes)

Falkoff is available to speak at events and book clubs. If you are interested in contacting her about speaking, complete the online form at: [mailto:http://michellefalkoff.com/contact/ http://michellefalkoff.com/contact/].