Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Crystal Chan  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Young Adult;

Born:


-- Facebook -- https://www.facebook.com/crystalchanwrites
-- Website -- http://crystalchanwrites.com
-- Crystal Chan on WorldCat -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=crystal++chan


Illinois Connection

Chan lives in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Crystal Chan grew up in Wisconsin. She has published articles in several magazines; given talks and workshops across the country; facilitated discussion groups at national conferences; and been a professional storyteller. ''Bird'', is her first novel. An online curriculum guide is available at the [http://crystalchanwrites.com/resources/curriculum-guide/ author's website].She has also adapted several "Classics" for "Manga Classics" graphic novels including, Les Miserables, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Jane Eyre, Jungle Book, Great Expectations, The Scarlet Letter, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Romeo and Juliet and Macbeth. She also edited the "Festivals of the World" series which includes: Japan, The United States, Egypt, Israel, England and India.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Bird
ISBN: 1442450894

Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 2014

Entrenched secrets, mysterious spirits, and an astonishing friendship weave together in this extraordinary and haunting debut.

Nothing matters. Only Bird matters. And he flew away.

Jewel never knew her brother Bird, but all her life she has lived in his shadow. Her parents blame Grandpa for the tragedy of their family’s past they say that Grandpa attracted a malevolent spirit—a duppy—into their home. Grandpa hasn’t spoken a word since. Now Jewel is twelve, and she lives in a house full of secrets and impenetrable silence.

Jewel is sure that no one will ever love her like they loved Bird, until the night that she meets a mysterious boy in a tree. Grandpa is convinced that the boy is a duppy, but Jewel knows that he is something more. And that maybe—just maybe—the time has come to break through the stagnant silence of the past.

All That I Can Fix
ISBN: 1534408886

Simon Pulse. 2018

A teen boy’s world gets turned upside-down when a zoo of exotic animals takes over his small town in this wickedly funny, heartbreakingly honest novel that’s perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson.

In Makersville, Indiana, people know all about Ronney—he’s from that mixed-race family with the dad who tried to kill himself, the pill-popping mom, and the genius kid sister. If having a family like that wasn’t bad enough, the local eccentric at the edge of town decided one night to open up all the cages of his exotic zoo—lions, cheetahs, tigers—and then shoot himself dead. Go figure. Even more proof that you can’t trust adults to do the right thing.

Overnight, news crews, gun control supporters, and gun rights advocates descend on Makersville, bringing around-the-clock news coverage, rallies, and anti-rallies with them. With his parents checked out, Ronney is left tending to his sister’s mounting fears of roaming lions, stopping his best friend from going on a suburban safari, and shaking loose a lonely boy who follows Ronney wherever he goes. Can Ronney figure out a way to hold it together as all his worlds fall apart?

From acclaimed author Crystal Chan comes an incisive tale of love, loyalty, and the great leaps we take to protect the people and places we love most.


Awards

Bird

  • ILLINOIS READS Book Selection, Illinois Reading Council, 2016

Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability (Yes)

Chan's presentation topics include

  • Letting your real self
  • shine
  • When Theres No Box To Check Falling in the Racial Cracks, Multiracial Students, and Diversity
  • How To Break All the Rules and Still Get Published...in Ten Countries
  • Beyond being "unique" a mixed-race author in a monoracial world
  • Hey, they whitewashed my book! On race and diversity
  • The writer's journey wandering the path of bedazzlement
  • ''Bird'' activity and writing workshop Presentations can also be designed for your needs. Please contact the author for rates and availability. Chan is represented by
  • Emily of Folio Literary Management.