Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Miriam Busch  

Pen Name: Miriam Busch Goin

Genre: Fiction

Born: in Illinois

Sites:


Illinois Connection

Busch lives in the western suburbs of Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Miriam Busch is a freelance writer, copyeditor and proofreader. She received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Hamline University in St. Paul, Minnesota. While working other jobs, she wrote in secret for many years and now writes full-time. Miriam is married to Illinois illustrator [http://www.illinoisauthors.org/authors/Larry_Day# Larry Day.] Their first collaboration is the award-winning book, ''Lion, Lion''.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Storms (National Geographic Readers: Level 1)
ISBN: 1426315775

National Geographic Kids. 2013

There are many kinds of storms, and they can be scary, but this overview helps readers understand how and why they happen and shows the importance of weather in different parts of the world and out-of-this world on other planets!

Lion, Lion
ISBN: 0062271040

Balzer + Bray. 2014

For fans of Ezra Jack Keats, this perfect read-aloud is a timeless story featuring plenty of animals!

A little boy is looking for Lion. Lion is looking for lunch.

And so our story begins. But look closely. . . . In this tale, nothing is quite as it seems!

Children will delight in this classic picture book with a mischievous twist.

Raisin, the Littlest Cow
ISBN: 0062427636

Balzer + Bray. 2017

An irresistible sibling story about Raisin, the littlest cow on the farm, and what happens when she gets a little brother—from the author and illustrator of Lion, Lion. Perfect for fans of Hug Machine and You Are (Not) Small.

Raisin loves being the littlest cow in the herd. All the other cows dote on her, and life is grand.

But one day, Raisin’s mother has a new little cow . . . one who is even smaller than Raisin. And suddenly everything changes. Raisin has never liked change, and this one is the worst. Now no one pays attention to her, the new baby smells funny, and even the weather won’t cooperate.

But then, when absolutely everything is going wrong, Raisin discovers a change in herself—one that delights the entire herd. Even (and especially!) the new baby.


Awards

-- *2012 Herman W. Block Award

-- *2013 Jane Resh Thomas Prize

-- '''''Lion, Lion''''' -- *Best Books, NPR, 2014

-- *Indie Bound Next List, 2014

-- *Junior Library Guild Selection, 2014

-- *ILLINOIS READS Book Selection, Illinois Reading Council, 2015

-- '''''Raisin, The Littlest Cow''''' -- *ILLINOIS READS Book Selection, Illinois Reading Council, 2018