Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Tomi Adeyemi  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Young Adult;

Born: 1993


-- Facebook -- https://www.facebook.com/tadeyemibooks/
-- Instagram -- http://instagram.com/tadeyemibooks
-- Pinterest -- https://www.pinterest.com/tomiadeyemiYA/
-- Twitter -- https://twitter.com/tomi_adeyemi
-- Website -- http://www.tomiadeyemi.com/


Illinois Connection

Adeyemi grew up in Homewood Flossmoor and Hinsdale. She graduated from Hinsdale Central High School in 2011.

Biographical and Professional Information

Tomi Adeyemi #1 New York Times and International Best-Selling author of book and upcoming movie Children of Blood and Bone. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach now based in San Diego, California.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha)
ISBN: 1250170974

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR). 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018


Awards

Children of Blood and Bone

  • #1 New York Times Bestseller
  • Starred Review, Booklist, 2018
  • Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, 2018
  • Starred Review, Kirkus, 2018
  • Starred Review, VOYA, 2018
  • Finalist, Kirkus Prize, 2018

    Speaking Engagements

    Speaking Engagement Availability: Yes. For all media inquiries, interview requests, event requests, and rights inquiries, please email asst@tomiadeyemi.com.