Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Devin Murphy  

Pen Name: 

Genre: Fiction

Audience: Adult;

Born:


-- Web -- https://www.devinmurphyauthor.com/
-- Facebook -- http://www.facebook.com/TheBoatRunner
-- Twitter -- https://twitter.com/_devinmurphy
-- Instagram -- https://www.instagram.com/Murphydt232/
-- E-Mail -- devinmurphyauthor@gmail.com
-- WorldCat: -- http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=Devin++Murphy

E-Mail: -- devinmurphyauthor@gmail.com


Illinois Connection

Murphy is an Associate Professor at Bradley University and lives in Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

Devin Murphy is the nationally bestselling author of The Boat Runner. His fiction has appeared in more than sixty literary journals and anthologies, including The Missouri Review, Glimmer Train, and Confrontation.


Speaking Engagements

Speaking Engagement Availability: Yes.

Selected Titles At Your Library

The Boat Runner
ISBN: 0062658018. OCLC Number: 1001724896

Harper Perennial. .

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.

Tiny Americans
ISBN: 0062856073. OCLC Number: 1089290808

Harper Perennial. .

Abandoned by the alcoholic father who idealized the natural world without imparting any survival skills to his children, three siblings in 1970s New York embark on difficult adult lives before their father attempts a reconciliation.