Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Frederik Pohl  

Pen Name: Elton Andrews, S.D. Gottesman and Scott Mariner (works written with CM CKrnbluth), Paul Dennis Lavond (any combinations of works written with Kornbluth, Dirk Wylie or Robert A. W. Lownes), James MacCr

Genre: C:ADULT

Born: 1919 in New York, New York


Illinois Connection

Pohl lived in Palatine, Illinois from 1984 until his death.

Biographical and Professional Information

Pohl was a science fiction writer and editor. He was involved in publishing since he was a teenager, when he served as a literary agent for his science fiction-writing young friends. He went on to edit magazines and books before finding renown as a writer himself in the 1930's. In all, Pohl published more than 65 novels and some 30 short-story collections, as well as nonfiction works. Nearly half his novels were collaborations with friends and colleagues. Although he was entirely self-taught, Pohl’s grasp of science was impressive. He was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1982. He was also in demand as a so-called futurist, speaking to business executives and other audiences about the shape of things to come in a science-dominated future — and about the unreliability of even short-range predictions.Mostly known for his science fiction work, Polh was also a prolific non-fiction author and served as the Encyclopedia Britannica’s expert of Tiberius, writing about film, science, politics, and ecology. His autobiography, ''The Way the Future Was'' provides an intimate look at the origins of science fiction fandom and business. More recently, Pohl has been blogging additional insights into science fiction on his website, entitled ''The Way the Future Blogs''.

Published Works Expand for more information

Titles At Your Library


-- *Hugo for Best Professional Magazine ''if'' in 1966, 1967 and 1968 *Hugo for ''The Meeting'' in 1973 *Nebula for ''Man Plus'' in 1976 *Nebula for ''Gateway'' in 1977 *Hugo for ''Gateway'' in 1978 *National Book Award Winner in Science Fiction for ''Jem'' in 1980 *Hugo for ''Fermi and Frost'' in 1986 *Inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 1998 *Grand Master Award, Science Fiction Writers of America in 1993 *Nebula Grand Master in 1993 *J. W. Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction from the UCR Libraries at the Eaton Science Fiction Conference, for ''Extraordinary Voyages