Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Dmitry N. Feofanov  

Pen Name: None

Genre: C:ADULT

Born: 1957 in the former USSR


Illinois Connection

Feofanov graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Chicago-Kent College of Law. He currently resides in Lyndon, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Dmitry Feofanov emigrated to the United States in 1978, while the Soviet Union was still intact. After a piano career (which included stints on the faculty of the University of Kentucky and the top prize at the University of Maryland International Piano Competition) he became a lawyer, which he does from his home in Lyndon, Illinois. Feofanov has edited several works including: ''The Legacy of Russian Music: Unknown Piano Treasures'', ''Rare Masterpieces of Russian Piano Music: Eleven Pieces by Glinka, Balakirev, Glazunov and Others'', ''Russian Piano Music, Thirty-two Piano Solos from the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries'', ''Sergei Prokofiev, Shorter Piano Works'', and ''Sergei Prokofiev, Classical Symphony" "Romeo and Juliet" and Other Works in Original Transcriptions for Solo Piano''. With Allan B. Ho, he co-edited ''Biographical Dictionary of Russian/Soviet Composers'' and ''Shostakovich Reconsidered.'' He is a contributor to periodicals, including Tennessee Review and Hofstra Law Review. He has also written an ebook, ''The Shostakovich Wars''.

Published Works Expand for more information

Titles At Your Library