Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book

Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Zachary Michael Jack  

Pen Name: None

Genre: C:ADULT C:YA Fiction Non-Fiction Poetry




Illinois Connection

Jack is a Professor of English at North Central College in Naperville.

Biographical and Professional Information

ZACHARY MICHAEL JACK has published more than twenty-five award-winning books in a variety of genres, including fiction, poetry, literary journalism, creative nonfiction, and personal essay, and op-ed/commentary in addition to his work as an off-off Broadway and regional playwright. Jack's fiction has earned national runner-up honors in its class in the Foreword Reviews Book of the Year Award; his poetry has been awarded the Prentice Hall Prize, and his nonfiction has received nominations for the Pushcart Prize, the Theodore Saloutos Award, the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award, the Herbert Warren Wind Award, and the Shambaugh Award, among others. The author and his work have been featured in USA Today, the Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and the Chicago Tribune. Jack's books have been favorably reviewed by the The New York Review of Books, Publisher's Weekly, Choice, Kirkus, Foreword Reviews, and other industry-shaping opinion-makers. His book March of the Suffragettes: Rosalie Gardiner Jones and the March for Voting Rights, was an American Booksellers Association (ABA) pick for its Best Books for Young Readers list of 2016.

Published Works Expand for more information

Titles At Your Library


-- """Wish You Were Here""" *Nominee, Hamlin Garland Prize in Popular History *Jon Gjerde Book Prize """March of Suffragettes""" *Best Books for Young Readers, American Booksellers Association, 2016 """The Midwest Farmer’s Daughter""" *Nominee, Theodore Saloutos Book Award, 2012 """Let There Be Pebble""" *Nominee, Herbert Warren Wind Book Award, 2011 *Nominee, William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award, 2011 """What Cheer: A Love Story""" *Winner, Silver Medal, Foreword Review's Book of the Year Competition, 2010 """Letters to a Young Iowan""" *Nominee, Pushcart Prize (Best of the Small Presses), 2007 *Winner, Prentice Hall Prize for Poetry, 2000