Illinois Authors

The Illinois Center for the Book banner

Dmitry N. Feofanov

Born: 1957 in the former USSR
Pen Name: None

Connection to Illinois: Feofanov graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Chicago-Kent College of Law. He currently resides in Lyndon, Illinois.

Biography: Dmitry Feofanov emigrated to the United States in 1978, while the Soviet Union was still intact. After a piano career (which included stints on the faculty of the University of Kentucky and the top prize at the University of Maryland International Piano Competition) he became a lawyer, which he does from his home in Lyndon, Illinois. Feofanov has edited several works including: ''The Legacy of Russian Music: Unknown Piano Treasures'', ''Rare Masterpieces of Russian Piano Music: Eleven Pieces by Glinka, Balakirev, Glazunov and Others'', ''Russian Piano Music, Thirty-two Piano Solos from the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries'', ''Sergei Prokofiev, Shorter Piano Works'', and ''Sergei Prokofiev, Classical Symphony' 'Romeo and Juliet' and Other Works in Original Transcriptions for Solo Piano''. With Allan B. Ho, he co-edited ''Biographical Dictionary of Russian/Soviet Composers'' and ''Shostakovich Reconsidered.'' He is a contributor to periodicals, including Tennessee Review and Hofstra Law Review. He has also written an ebook, ''The Shostakovich Wars''.


Primary Audience(s): Adult readers

Dmitry N. Feofanov on WorldCat :

Selected Titles

Shostakovich reconsidered /
ISBN: 0907689574 OCLC: 778838166

Toccata Press, [London] : 2006, ©1998.

Dmitry Shostakovich's memoirs, "Testimony" have been the subject of fierce debate since their publication in 1979. This book aims to address the accusations levelled at "Testimony" and Solomon Volkov, Shostakovich's amanuensis, and also talks about Shostakovich and his position in Soviet society.